Unicode Character "₹" (U+20B9)

The character (Indian Rupee Sign) is represented by the Unicode codepoint U+20B9. It is encoded in the Currency Symbols block, which belongs to the Basic Multilingual Plane. It was added to Unicode in version 6.0 (October, 2010). It is HTML encoded as ₹.

Main Unicode Properties

Name Indian Rupee Sign
Unicode Codepoint U+20B9
Unicode Version 6.0 (October, 2010)
Block Currency Symbols
Plane Basic Multilingual Plane

Bidirectional Data

Bidirectional class European Terminator (ET)
Is mirrored? No

Other Unicode Data

U+20B9 Conversion

HTML (decimal) ₹
HTML (hex) ₹
HTML (named) -
URL Escape Code %E2%82%B9
CSS \0020B9
JavaScript, JSON \u20B9
C, C++, Java \u20B9
Python \u20B9
Rust \u{20B9}
Ruby \u20B9

How to type "₹"

  • Windows ?: Hold Alt, then type 2 0 B 9. Release Alt.
  • Mac ?: Hold Alt ⌥, then type 2 0 B 9. Release Alt.


  • Times, Times New Roman, serif
  • Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif
  • Courier, Courier New, monospace

UTF Encodings

UTF-8 (hex) 0xE2 0x82 0xB9
UTF-16 (hex) 0x20B9
UTF-32 (hex) 0x000020B9